** This blog published Mondays and Wednesdays **
Just off Emmitsburg Road is a narrow dirt farm lane marked with the sign “Rose Farm”, and along this road you’ll find the ruins of the George Rose barn. This is the original barn that stood at the time of the battle, though sadly it was destroyed in a lightning storm in 1910. It’s fascinating to imagine the many wounded soldiers who lingered and died or perhaps grew stronger and survived within its ruined walls. Fortunately the ruins were allowed to remain here rather than be torn down, giving us another glimpse into Gettysburg’s 1863 landscape and preserving one of many witness buildings even in damaged form.
PVT. IREDELL LAMSON
Co. H, 20TH Maine Infantry
Born abt. 1843 --- Died July 03, 1863
Pvt. Lamson (also listed as Lampson) enlisted in August 1862. He was mortally wounded on July 2ND (either in the right leg or the abdomen) and died the next day. His sixteen-year-old brother Pelatiah died at home in 1863, compounding the family’s grief. Pvt. Lamson’s final resting place is Gettysburg’s National Cemetery, where he is listed as an unknown.
(c) 2012-2016 Skies of Blue and Gray